Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg Corpora Romanica - Freiburger Workshop on Romance Corpus Linguistics  
 3rd Workshop 2006: Corpora and Pragmatics Deutsche Version  Version française
   




3rd Freiburg Workshop 2006

Corpora and Pragmatics
Speech acts and context-bound interaction
in the light of corpora and data-bases
Albert-Ludwigs University Freiburg i.Br. (Germany)
September 14th-17th, 2006

Pragmatics, understood in a broad sense as the analysis of language use in its situational context, may have developed into one of the most dynamic sub-disciplines of contemporary linguistics specifically because by focussing on the functioning of speaking in context, pragmatics points beyond what is said by the mere words and understands the meaning of utterances as a complex product related to multiple basic conditions, which is negotiated by verbal interaction. Due to its scope, pragmatics is by definition an approach of understanding linguistic meaning that is dependent on language data captured in authentic, real-life use. However, in order to be pragmatically analyzable, these language data have to be enriched with para-linguistic and extra-linguistic data, and one must have the possibility to reconstruct its situational links and dependencies.

Corpus linguistics as a methodological approach aiming at collecting, marking-up and documenting real-life language data is confronted with particular challenges when its products corpora and linguistic data-bases are intended to be useful and usable for pragmatic research issues. Among the issues that have to be dealt with are the following: which elements of the extra-linguistic context are selected, how are they encoded, and in which way can they be linked to the verbal data? Which types of annotation methods and which technical options of multimediality and information layering are available in order to document para-linguistic (mimic or gestural-kinetic) action? According to which sociolinguistic or historical parameters are texts and language data chosen in order to arrive at an adequate corpus-based description of the synchronic variation and the diachronic dynamism of speech acts, registers and genres, norms of linguistic behavior, and traditions of speaking? To which extent are frequency values and patterns of co-occurrence information so easily obtained through computer-aided corpus-based research useful for a better understanding of speaking in a context which, according to its basic conception, is oriented towards individual case studies?

These and other questions have been discussed at the 3rd Freiburg Workshop on Romance Corpus Linguistics, which was held in September 2006 and the proceedings of which will be published with Gunter Narr Publisher Tübingen by early 2010.

90 linguists from 14 countries worldwide participated at this conference, where, apart from 62 panel contributions, the following plenary talks were given:

  • Carla Bazzanella (Torino / Italy):
    Using corpora in pragmatic research: data and theory
  • Martin-Dietrich Gleßgen (Zürich / Switzerland):
    Corpus et pragmatique historique
  • Lorenza Mondada (Lyon / France):
    Comment constituer des corpus pour l'analyse en linguistique interactionnelle: l'exemple des turn pre-beginnings
  • Lene Schøsler (København / Denmark):
    Grammaticalisation et constructions

Furthermore, a para-workshop Corpus historiques - balisage, étiquetage, exploitation, directed by Sophie Prévost (ENS Ulm + CNRS Paris / France) and Serge Heiden (ENS-LSH Lyon / France), was organized within the conference, where the machine-readable treatment and mark-up of historical texts and diachronic language data was exemplified, illustrated and discussed.

Furthermore, a para-workshop Vers un corpus international équilibré de la langue française? / Towards a balanced international corpus of French? was organized and directed by Wolfgang Raible; contributions were made by Françoise Gadet (Paris), Rolf Kailuweit (Freiburg im Breisgau), Ralph Ludwig (Halle / Saale), Ingrid Neumann-Holzschuh (Regensburg), Christian Mair (Freiburg im Breisgau), Stefan Pfänder (Freiburg im Breisgau), Claus D. Pusch (Freiburg im Breisgau), Anne Catherine Simon (Louvain-la-Neuve) and Pascal Vaillant (Cayenne).

The workshop was organized in cooperation with 550 years of Freiburg University
kongress+kommunikation gGmbH
and received support from the following institutions:
DFG Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (Bonn)
Universität Freiburg Albert-Ludwigs-Universität - Rectorship / International Office
FWTM Freiburg Wirtschaft Touristik und Messe
Sparkasse Sparkasse Freiburg-Nördlicher Breisgau
 
 
 

For organizational reasons, no Workshop on Romance Corpus Linguistics will be held in 2009. The next Workshop of this series - with a slightly different formula - is planned to take place in October 2012.
 
 
 

Corpora Romanica > 3rd Workshop 2006
Updated 08-15-2009
Design: Claus D. Pusch
© Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg / Romanisches Seminar

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg Corpora Romanica - Freiburger Arbeitstagung zur Romanistischen Korpuslingustik  
 3. Arbeitstagung 2006: Korpora und Pragmatik English version  Version française
   




3. Freiburger Arbeitstagung 2006

Korpora und Pragmatik
Sprachliches Handeln und kontextgebundene Interaktion
im Lichte von Korpora und Datenbanken
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg i.Br.
14.-17. September 2006

Die Pragmatik, im weitesten Sinne verstanden als die Untersuchung von Sprachgebrauch im situativen Kontext, ist vielleicht gerade deswegen zu einer der dynamischsten Subdisziplinen der aktuellen Linguistik geworden, weil sie mit der Frage nach dem Funktionieren von Sprechen im Kontext über das 'durch die Wörter Gesagte' hinausweist und die Äußerungsbedeutung als komplexes, in der verbalen Interaktion ausgehandeltes Produkt vielschichtiger Rahmenbedingungen begreift. Dadurch ist die Pragmatik per definitionem eine Form der Sprachuntersuchung, die auf authentische, den realen Gebrauch widerspiegelnde Sprachdaten als Materialgrundlage ihrer Analysen angewiesen ist. Damit Sprachdaten jedoch pragmatisch analysiert werden können, müssen sie mit parasprachlichen und außersprachlichen Daten verknüpfbar, muss der erwähnte äußerungssituative Rahmen rekonstruierbar sein.

Die Korpuslinguistik als methodischer Ansatz der Erhebung, Aufbereitung und Dokumentation realsprachlicher Daten sieht sich einer besonderen Herausforderung gegenübergestellt, wenn ihre Produkte - Korpora und Textdatenbanken - für pragmatische Fragestellungen geeignet sein sollen. Vielfältige Fragen tun sich dabei auf: Welche Elemente des außersprachlichen Kontexts wählt man aus, wie kodiert man sie und auf welche Weise lassen sie sich mit den sprachlichen Daten verknüpfen? Welche Notationsmethoden und welche technischen Möglichkeiten der Multimedialität stehen für die Dokumentation von sprachbegleitendem (mimischen oder gestisch-kinetischen) Handeln zur Verfügung? Nach welchen soziolinguistischen oder historischen Parametern wählt man Texte und Sprachdaten aus, um auf korpusanalytischem Weg die synchrone Variation und den diachronischen Wandel von Sprechtraditionen, Sprachverhaltensnormen und Registern zu erschließen? Inwiefern können korpusbasiert-computergestützt leicht zu gewinnende Frequenzwerte und Kookkurrenzmuster für das Verständnis von Sprechen in Äußerungssituationen, das seinem Grundgedanken nach einzelfallorientiert ist, von Nutzen sein?

Diese und andere Fragen bildeten den Gegenstand der 3. Freiburger Arbeitstagung zur Romanistischen Korpuslinguistik, die im September 2006 stattfand und deren Akten voraussichtlich Anfang 2010 im Gunter-Narr-Verlag Tübingen erscheinen werden.

An der Tagung nahmen 90 Sprachwissenschaftlerinnen und Sprachwissenschaftler aus 14 Ländern Europas und Übersees teil. Neben 62 Sektionsvorträgen wurden die folgenden Plenumsvorträge gehalten:

  • Carla Bazzanella (Torino / Italien):
    Using corpora in pragmatic research: data and theory
  • Martin-Dietrich Gleßgen (Zürich / Schweiz):
    Corpus et pragmatique historique
  • Lorenza Mondada (Lyon / Frankreich):
    Comment constituer des corpus pour l'analyse en linguistique interactionnelle: l'exemple des turn pre-beginnings
  • Lene Schøsler (København / Dänemark):
    Grammaticalisation et constructions

Außerdem fand im Rahmen der Tagung ein Atelier Vers un corpus international équilibré de la langue française? / Towards a balanced international corpus of French? unter der Leitung von Wolfgang Raible und unter Beteiligung von Françoise Gadet (Paris), Rolf Kailuweit (Freiburg im Breisgau), Ralph Ludwig (Halle / Saale), Ingrid Neumann-Holzschuh (Regensburg), Christian Mair (Freiburg im Breisgau), Stefan Pfänder (Freiburg im Breisgau), Claus D. Pusch (Freiburg im Breisgau), Anne Catherine Simon (Louvain-la-Neuve) und Pascal Vaillant (Cayenne) statt.

Die Tagung fand statt in Zusammenarbeit mit Unijubiläum 2007
kongress+kommunikation gGmbH
und wurde unterstützt von
DFG Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (Bonn)
Universität Freiburg Albert-Ludwigs-Universität - Rektorat / International Office
FWTM Freiburg Wirtschaft Touristik und Messe
Sparkasse Sparkasse Freiburg-Nördlicher Breisgau
 
 
 

Aus organisatorischen Gründen findet im Jahr 2009 keine Arbeitstagung zur Romanistischen Korpuslinguistik statt. Die nächste Tagung dieser Reihe ist - mit verändertem Konzept - für Oktober 2012 geplant.
 
 
 

Corpora Romanica > 3.Arbeitstagung 2006
Aktualisiert am 15.08.2009
Gestaltung: Claus D. Pusch
© Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg / Romanisches Seminar